Girls Varsity Swimming · Girls’ Swimming wins IHSAA Sectional

The girls’ swimming team led from start to finish and brought home the IHSAA Sectional Championship Saturday.  Saint Joe last won the sectional championship in the 2001-02 season.

The Indians won nine of the 12 events and broke five pool records at Riley High School.  Mary Cate Pruitt set a pool record in the 200-yard freestyle and the 500 yard freestyle.  She was also a part of the 200-yard freestyle relay, and the 400-yard freestyle relay teams, which also set pool records.  The 200-yard freestyle team also included Aislinn Walsh, Lauren Pieniazkiewicz, and Emma Fetzer.  The 400 yard freestyle team featured Lauren Pieniazkiewicz, Emma Fetzer, and Evie Sierra along with Pruitt.

Aislinn Walsh also set a pool record in the 100-yard butterfly.

Other event winners not mentioned above include: Ashley Jenkins, Aislinn Walsh, Evie Sierra and Lydia Schaeffer in the 200-yard medley relay, Evie Sierra in the 200-yard individual medley, Ashley Jenkins in the 100-yard backstroke, and Aislinn Walsh in the 100-yard breaststroke.

Bonnie Schrems was selected Coach of the Year. Congratulations to all swimmers and coaches.  What a phenomenal day of swimming.